1.0 Ecoboost power issue - Mechanical (Focus Mk3) - TalkFord.com

Jump to content

TalkFord.com uses cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info. To remove this message, please click the button to the right:    I accept the use of cookies

TalkFord Gold Members Don't See Adverts! Subscribe Today To Hide This Advert!

News Feed (View All Updates)



Photo

1.0 Ecoboost power issue


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 kjea5ty

kjea5ty

    Just Joined TF!

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 03 April 2021 - 08:49 AM

Hi all,

Puzzling issue that I’ve had experienced a few times the past couple of months with my 2013 Focus Zetec S 1.0 Ecoboost.

Start the car up and just seems like the turbo has gone “awol”, put my foot down and there’s no sense of spooling/power delivery. Almost seems like it’s in a protective/limp mode but can still get to max 70 (in its own time), but with no alarm on dash.

Can then park up, turn engine off, then go back to it after a while, start up and turbo is present and spools up with good strong power delivery.

Anyone else experienced this or got an idea what it could be?

Engine is completely standard with no modifications on. At 82k miles at mo.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#2 PURPLE_2L_LX

PURPLE_2L_LX

    Mk3 Forum Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 29176 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:MK4.5 TDCI 140
  • Location:westmidlands

Posted 03 April 2021 - 04:42 PM

*
POPULAR

Its probably in limp mode. Check for fault codes with an OBDII scanner.

 

 

I had an issue on a diesel where there were no fault lights/codes but same get

to 70 but actually went slower if you floored it.  With mine it was a pipe that

popped off. 

 

Obviously mine did not reset by cycling the ignition.


  • kjea5ty likes this

MK4.5 TDCI 140 Business Estate.

 

MK3 FUSE INFO CLICK HERE ... FORD WIKI CLICK HERE .... FORD ETIS CLICK HERE

Adding your location may find someone local who could offer assistance.

F-Super, Bluetooth OBDII (ELM) and a MS509 scanners (test subjects required).

ForDiag now available to victims.


#3 kjea5ty

kjea5ty

    Just Joined TF!

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 03 April 2021 - 04:50 PM

When I get a chance, I want to go try to whip off all the induction pipes and priming pipes for the turbo, checking for splits/wear.

Like I said, it’s just strange not to throw any alarm/faults on the dash.

May have to invest in a obd reader to see if any fault codes are showing more on the depths.

Thanks for the reply


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#4 Master-of-none

Master-of-none

    Clever cloggs

  • Members
  • 1574 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:1.0 125PS Focus Ti
  • Location:essex

Posted 07 April 2021 - 08:32 AM

*
POPULAR

Have a look at the turbo recirculation valve, it has a rubber diaphragm that can split.

Unfortunately the diaphragm is not available separately you have to buy the cover as well.

Access is a bit awkward, as it's under the turbo and there is a relatively small gap between the radiator and turbo. It's really only 3 screws and a pipe clip, but be prepared to drop some screws or your tools and have to remove the engine undertray! My tip is to stuff some rags or cardboard to catch dropped items before they fall too far.

 

C3QxCnH.jpg

 

Terrible video showing the location (on a Fiesta) and an alternative valve.


  • kjea5ty likes this
Weaselling out of things is important to learn,it's what separates us from the animals Except the weasel

#5 kjea5ty

kjea5ty

    Just Joined TF!

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 07 April 2021 - 04:11 PM

Thanks for the info. I had read up a little about those valves splitting. Uprated versions bout £115 or so I hear.

Hopefully get a chance to take a look next week when I’m off shift.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users