TPMS - Electrical (Mk4 Mondeo) - TalkFord.com

Jump to content

TalkFord.com uses cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info. To remove this message, please click the button to the right:    I accept the use of cookies

TalkFord Gold Members Don't See Adverts! Subscribe Today To Hide This Advert!

News Feed (View All Updates)



Photo

TPMS

tyre pressure monitoring system

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Budafok

Budafok

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Mondeo MK4
  • Name:Peter
  • Location:Budapest, Hungary

Posted 27 November 2020 - 05:15 PM

Hi there,

 

I've got a 2014 S-max and wanted to activate TPMS. There are more options in Forscan and don't know which to choose...

And one more question: Is it enough to put sensors into the tires or shall I get any other element as well??

 

Any help would appreciate!

 

Peter

 



#2 PURPLE_2L_LX

PURPLE_2L_LX

    Mk3 Forum Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 28833 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:MK4.5 TDCI 140
  • Location:westmidlands

Posted 28 November 2020 - 01:46 AM

You will need The main TPMS module and 4 antenna modules and then program the

system to the car along with the 4 pressure sensors.


MK4.5 TDCI 140 Business Estate.

 

MK3 FUSE INFO CLICK HERE ... FORD WIKI CLICK HERE .... FORD ETIS CLICK HERE

Adding your location may find someone local who could offer assistance.

F-Super, Bluetooth OBDII (ELM) and a MS509 scanners (test subjects required).

ForDiag now available to victims.


#3 Budafok

Budafok

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Mondeo MK4
  • Name:Peter
  • Location:Budapest, Hungary

Posted 28 November 2020 - 08:09 AM

Thanks for the reply,
So it isn't as easy as I thought. Do you know the location of the tpms module?

#4 PURPLE_2L_LX

PURPLE_2L_LX

    Mk3 Forum Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 28833 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:MK4.5 TDCI 140
  • Location:westmidlands

Posted 28 November 2020 - 07:11 PM

Think its in the roof.


MK4.5 TDCI 140 Business Estate.

 

MK3 FUSE INFO CLICK HERE ... FORD WIKI CLICK HERE .... FORD ETIS CLICK HERE

Adding your location may find someone local who could offer assistance.

F-Super, Bluetooth OBDII (ELM) and a MS509 scanners (test subjects required).

ForDiag now available to victims.


#5 Koysana

Koysana

    Just Joined TF!

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 02 December 2020 - 07:25 PM

Found this just convert from German might help. https://mk4-wiki.den...dks_nachruesten

#6 st tdci

st tdci

    Likes to chat

  • Members
  • 260 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:2.0 Mk4.5 2011 Tit X
  • Name:Rob

Posted 03 December 2020 - 05:21 PM

I know for a fact that this has been done, but it’s a huge amount of work which will involve getting the sensors fitted to the wheels. What if one of them doesn’t work? I’ve had it on a number of cars and would personally avoid it if given the choice. It’s on SWMBOs Corsa at the moment and is now starting to throw up overnight pressure differentials in the cold, they then resolve themselves as the temp rises during the day.

 

Some marques now have a DDS deflation detected system which tells you if you have a flat - seems much better, doesn’t give the accuracy of the TPMS but doesn’t use sensors either - just some clever stuff with the vehicles ABS system to detect when one wheel (the flat one) is spinning faster than it should be which is an indicator of a flat.

 

HTH - Rob 



#7 dojj

dojj

    Resident Wrestling Legend

  • Members
  • 3902 posts
Garage View Garage

Posted 03 December 2020 - 08:16 PM

if you want them but don't want the oem stuff you can get aftermarket stuff via ebay for about £30


mk3 mondeo ghia x estate 2.0 auto with:

362mm 6 pot ap stoppers lurking behind some 8 x 18 comps
tv fitted to facelifted dash + headrest screens for both kids
full st kit + powerfolds w/puddlelights with jp stainless exhaust
shonky n/s/f rattle fixed by totd whoopie!
most of the chrome bits done


#8 go4it

go4it

    Likes to chat

  • Members
  • 399 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Mondeo
  • Name:Oli
  • Location:Germany

Posted 15 December 2020 - 04:25 PM

Retrofitting a simplified version of TMPS is fairly easy. If unshure, grab the genuine sensors (you'll get them for about £100), let a workshop fit them into your wheels (maybe when you already need to change them) for about £10 per wheel. Then grab somebody who install the ConversMod onto your cluster and you're done. The Mod prevents the cluster from complaining about the missing antennas and also give the possibility to assign wheelpositions by applying different pressures to them and store it. I use this since many years and where very comfortable with it.

No need to retrofit the antennas. They are just for comfort. The receiver for the TPMS-sensors is built into any car, it is the same receiving your keyfob signals.

 

(oh, btw: i am that "German guy" mentioned above ;-)


Edited by go4it, 15 December 2020 - 04:28 PM.






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: tyre, pressure, monitoring, system

2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users