Heater Blower issues - Air-Con / Heating (Mk3 Mondeo) - TalkFord.com

Jump to content

TalkFord.com uses cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info. To remove this message, please click the button to the right:    I accept the use of cookies

TalkFord Gold Members Don't See Adverts! Subscribe Today To Hide This Advert!



Photo

Heater Blower issues


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Caterham

Caterham

    Just Joined TF!

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 27 November 2020 - 04:34 PM

I have a 2007 ST220 with an odd heater/AC issue. Turn the ignition on, but don't start the engine, set the AC to 20 degrees, auto and I get a good blast of air through the vents.

 

Start the engine and the blast dwindles right down to almost nothing. 

 

The AC diagnostic report no issues. I've cleaned the cabin temperature sensor.

 

Anybody any ideas?

 

TIA



#2 nicam49

nicam49

    Little Megger

  • Gold Member
  • 4197 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Mondeo mk3
  • Name:Nick
  • Location:Leicestershire

Posted 27 November 2020 - 05:26 PM

No ideas really, but how long since you changed the pollen filter?
<p><p>nicam49 2002 Mondeo TDCi Ghia X Estate mk3 pre facelift Stardust Silver+Rust.[b] 308,000+miles, but been off the road since Nov 2019 after timing chain slipped during fuel pump transplant. Awaiting return of mojo

#3 Communist

Communist

    Mk3 4 LYFE

  • Members
  • 316 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:2005 Mondeo 1.8
  • Name:Karl Marx
  • Location:People's Republic of Dorset

Posted 27 November 2020 - 07:35 PM

What about when you manually boost the fan speed up and down? Does it behave as it should then?

#4 Caterham

Caterham

    Just Joined TF!

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 28 November 2020 - 08:48 AM

Thanks for the responses.

 

The pollen filter was changed a few months back.

 

The manual override works OK, it just seems to be the auto bit that is playing up.



#5 stonekeeper

stonekeeper

    TF regular

  • Members
  • 758 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Mondeo titanium x
  • Name:Mark
  • Location:Lancashire

Posted 28 November 2020 - 09:07 AM

My tuppenneth

 

 

Could it be the outside air temperature sensor at fault?

 

That may not be involved until started up.

 

 

 

What happens in "Auto" if you change the temperature required?

 

I.e Does the fan speed change then?



#6 Caterham

Caterham

    Just Joined TF!

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 28 November 2020 - 11:11 AM

Outside sensor was showing 6 degrees at the time.

 

I will give the other a go.

 

TA






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users