Steering wheel controls problem - Android Navigation - In-Car Entertainment (Mk4 Mondeo) - TalkFord.com

Jump to content

TalkFord.com uses cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info. To remove this message, please click the button to the right:    I accept the use of cookies

TalkFord Gold Members Don't See Adverts! Subscribe Today To Hide This Advert!

News Feed (View All Updates)



Photo

Steering wheel controls problem - Android Navigation

steering wheel controls steering wheel android navigation steering wheel controls wheel controls problem canbus software

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 andreitc

andreitc

    Just Joined TF!

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Ford Mondeo mk4
  • Name:Tudor Andrei
  • Location:Bucuresti, Romania

Posted 16 October 2020 - 02:22 PM

Hello all,

 

I've installed in my car (2007 Ford Mondeo MK4) an aftermarket navigation unit running Android 8.1. I've installed it correctly, connecting also the CANBUS decoder thing which came in the navigation package. The problem is that the steering wheel controls don't work. The navigation cannot read the steering wheel buttons commands.

 

In the navigation software there is included a steering wheel button mapping software, but, when I try to map a button, I get an error and it does not work. 

 

Photo with the error when I try to map a button:

 
Screenshot_20201016-152825.th.png
 
I've searched for this problem and the thing is that this navigation includes a system for setting the CANBUS software version, basically this has a bunch of "manufacturers" from what I could see, each with a bunch of automakers, including Ford, and in Ford there is another section where I can choose my car model from. I've selected the apparent correct model of my vehicle, but the commands don't work. I've also tried with more models from that list, but none of them works. I've also restarted the system after each modification, because this is what I've seen where I've searched for this issue. 
 
 
The model I've selected: 
Screenshot_20201016-152914.th.png
 
8F4FC094-E0E0-4122-B707-962DCE33E1E3.th.
 
00CCCCBA-DA30-4EA5-8B99-695F1000A679.th.
 
 
 
Photos with some of the CANBUS manufactures that I can choose from:
6D6D256C-63F5-44FD-8F7D-41D8A824B0D6.th.
 
26E8B995-2BD0-4A8D-9A25-27F5DA39C76B.th.
 
 
The question is:
Does anyone has any idea how can i solve it, if they bumped into this error when installing this type of Android navigation? 
What CANBUS product / model should I choose from the list in order for the steering wheel commands to work?
 
 
Complete information about my navigation system:
Screenshot_20201016-153928.th.png
 
 
I've attached a lot of pictures in order to better understand my problem
 
 
 
Thanks in advance!


#2 Automatic1

Automatic1

    Likes to chat

  • Gold Member
  • 289 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Ford Mondeo 240PS

Posted 16 October 2020 - 05:45 PM

it seems like a really old unit, according to specs Etc.

modern android units dont have such an issue and if you can, contact the company you bought it from.

I can tell you that from my experience, i had a real android system 4 years ago, everything worked with the decoder back then.

But, it was an EONON unit.

Today, i have a modern unit with real android 9, everything works straight out of the box. 

 

For your question, just try everything there is, one by one, there is no solution or magic in it. 



#3 Mark M

Mark M

    TF regular

  • Members
  • 1291 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Mk4 Mondeo 2.5t
  • Name:Mark
  • Location:Worthing West Sussex

Posted 16 October 2020 - 06:21 PM

*
POPULAR

Ah, the joys of a regular head unit, you plug it in and it works. No updating, no reconfiguring, no button remapping it just works 😎
  • tellmah likes this

RamAir Pod Filter   -   Elevate FST225 Top Pipe   -   Airtec FMIC   -   Scorpion Downpipe   -    Scorpion Cat Back Exhaust   -   ECV Valve   -   RS DMF + Clutch Kit   -   Bluefin Stage 2

 

Sports Rear Diffuser   -   Sports Top Front Grill   -   Sports Bottom Front Grill   -   Sports Fog Lights   -   Sport Pedal Covers   -   Dark Ice Designs Auto Lift Boot Struts   -   Dark Ice Designs Bonnet Rams   -   Dark Ice Designs Short Shift Kit   -   Auto Mirror Mod   -   Interior LED Conversion   -   Nextbase 402 and 512 Dashcams  -  Convers Mod

 

295bhp & 450nm of fun, but can still give 38mpg  :driving: 


#4 Automatic1

Automatic1

    Likes to chat

  • Gold Member
  • 289 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Ford Mondeo 240PS

Posted 16 October 2020 - 08:05 PM

Yes, the joys of regular android unit that you buy from a good source meant for mondeo.

The android unit he bought, is old, bad canbus decoder and need to configure it.

 

You can enjoy your old useless unit, for sure.



#5 Mark M

Mark M

    TF regular

  • Members
  • 1291 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Mk4 Mondeo 2.5t
  • Name:Mark
  • Location:Worthing West Sussex

Posted 16 October 2020 - 08:10 PM

LMAO!!!! My less than a year old unit does all I need it to.

RamAir Pod Filter   -   Elevate FST225 Top Pipe   -   Airtec FMIC   -   Scorpion Downpipe   -    Scorpion Cat Back Exhaust   -   ECV Valve   -   RS DMF + Clutch Kit   -   Bluefin Stage 2

 

Sports Rear Diffuser   -   Sports Top Front Grill   -   Sports Bottom Front Grill   -   Sports Fog Lights   -   Sport Pedal Covers   -   Dark Ice Designs Auto Lift Boot Struts   -   Dark Ice Designs Bonnet Rams   -   Dark Ice Designs Short Shift Kit   -   Auto Mirror Mod   -   Interior LED Conversion   -   Nextbase 402 and 512 Dashcams  -  Convers Mod

 

295bhp & 450nm of fun, but can still give 38mpg  :driving: 


#6 andreitc

andreitc

    Just Joined TF!

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Ford Mondeo mk4
  • Name:Tudor Andrei
  • Location:Bucuresti, Romania

Posted 17 October 2020 - 02:07 PM

Yes, the joys of regular android unit that you buy from a good source meant for mondeo.

The android unit he bought, is old, bad canbus decoder and need to configure it.

 

You can enjoy your old useless unit, for sure.

 

OK, thanks for answers, I really wanted a cheap unit with android so that I can use waze and spotify without using my phone and looking at it for waze and stuffs. I thing I bought the cheapest unit, I didn't want to invest a lot in such a unit for this car, as it's price is not that big, and it does not feel like a good investment. 

 

So, please tell me if you have any idea how to configure it so that the commands will work.

 

Thanks!


Edited by andreitc, 17 October 2020 - 02:08 PM.


#7 Automatic1

Automatic1

    Likes to chat

  • Gold Member
  • 289 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Ford Mondeo 240PS

Posted 17 October 2020 - 05:50 PM

Yes, we told you already, go one by one option until it finally works.

There is no magic here, unless you will be waiting for years for someone with a unit like your to come and comment.

 

Take your time, go one by one option, try them all.

 

Question: the basic left wheel functions are working? if they do, stop playing and trying to configure it. 



#8 andreitc

andreitc

    Just Joined TF!

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Ford Mondeo mk4
  • Name:Tudor Andrei
  • Location:Bucuresti, Romania

Posted 26 October 2020 - 12:58 PM

I've tried to go through all the protocol interfaces, one by one, and couldn't solve this out...

 

I also tried to make the connection as in this photo:

 

U0d8c062cbfb040d8a43fa48345bd3c3ao.jpg

 

Firstly, I had both the ACC connector and the Canbus decoder connected.

 

Then, after i've seen this picture, i disconnected the ACC and connected only Canbus. 

 

It didn't work that way either...

 

Do any of you have any idea of how can I solve this?

 

Thanks in advance!



#9 PURPLE_2L_LX

PURPLE_2L_LX

    Mk3 Forum Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 28976 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:MK4.5 TDCI 140
  • Location:westmidlands

Posted 29 October 2020 - 01:14 AM

What have you plugged in and where?  Does the stereo read any signal inputs?

 

Wiring diagrams on AliExpress, lots of sellers of the same unit.


MK4.5 TDCI 140 Business Estate.

 

MK3 FUSE INFO CLICK HERE ... FORD WIKI CLICK HERE .... FORD ETIS CLICK HERE

Adding your location may find someone local who could offer assistance.

F-Super, Bluetooth OBDII (ELM) and a MS509 scanners (test subjects required).

ForDiag now available to victims.


#10 andreitc

andreitc

    Just Joined TF!

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Ford Mondeo mk4
  • Name:Tudor Andrei
  • Location:Bucuresti, Romania

Posted 29 October 2020 - 02:47 PM

I don't know exactly what you don't understand. I have everything connected as in the picture I've attached above. 

 

From what I understand, the picture is saying:

- if you connect the canbus decoder, do not connect the ACC

- if you connect the ACC, do not connect the canbus decoder

 

I've connected the canbus decoder, and disconnected the ACC. (If I don't connect the canbus decoder, my android navigation won't even start - it does not display anything). If I connect the canbus decoder, it works perfectly, but it cannot read the multimedia commands from the steering wheel. Everything else works great. Just the steering wheel commands don't work. 

 

I do not know if the navigation reads any signal inputs, it does not read the commands from the steering wheel, and other than those I do not input anything (i guess). 


Edited by andreitc, 29 October 2020 - 02:48 PM.






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: steering, wheel, controls, steering wheel, android, navigation, steering wheel controls, wheel controls problem, canbus, software

2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users