Sync2 updates in UK - Ford SYNC Forum - TalkFord.com

Jump to content

TalkFord.com uses cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info. To remove this message, please click the button to the right:    I accept the use of cookies

TalkFord Gold Members Don't See Adverts! Subscribe Today To Hide This Advert!

News Feed (View All Updates)



Photo

Sync2 updates in UK


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Tit X lover

Tit X lover

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Focus Titanium X
  • Name:Pete Dix
  • Location:UK

Posted 21 January 2016 - 12:45 AM

Has anybody heard anything regarding being able to download your own software updates for Sync2, at home as is the case in USA? The Ford web site said it was coming soon, but that appears to have gone. Is it possible to update anything without a visit to a dealer?
I did contact Ford at the end of 2015 and they said it was in the pipeline. Coming from where? Russia!
Also anyone got any tips on sat nav updates?

#2 hammie14

hammie14

    Likes to chat

  • Members
  • 59 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Mondeo mk5 Estate
  • Name:Rob

Posted 06 March 2016 - 02:48 PM

Yes the updates can now be done in the UK as many people have done this

 

!!!!! DO THIS AT YOUR ON RISK !!!!!


 

After a lot of searching, reading and translating, I came across direct links to Ford servers hosting the official EU upgrade files for Sync 2. No need to sign up to the Ford India website, just download, extract to the root of a FAT32 formatted USB stick and away you go.

 

I did use the Ford India website to determine which language pack matches to my VIN for use in the UK. It shouldn't really matter as all EU language packs include British English, but I get a bit OCD so wanted to know which one Ford would use. That turned out to be Language Pack 5.

 

I have read that you may need a minimum of the F4 SD card or newer, however everyone with Sync 2 in the EU should have F4 following the recall (if you have Nav fitted).

 

Here is the full list of the Oct 15 update, if you are not from the UK, but another EU country, you need to make sure you download the correct language pack to include the language you want to be able to speak (and have spoken) to the car in:

 

Language Pack 1 - German, English (British), Russian, Turkish:

http://ivsu.binaries...ngpack1Rev2.zip

 

Language Pack 2 - German, English (British), Polish, Russian:

http://ivsu.binaries...ngpack2Rev2.zip

 

Language Pack 3 - German, English (British), French, Italian:

http://ivsu.binaries...ngpack3Rev2.zip

 

Language Pack 4 - German, English (British), French, Swedish:

http://ivsu.binaries...ngpack4Rev2.zip

 

Language Pack 5 - English (British), Spanish, French, Portuguese:

http://ivsu.binaries...ngpack5Rev2.zip - This is the one I used

 

Language Pack 6 - German, English (British), French, Dutch:

http://ivsu.binaries...ngpack6Rev2.zip

 

US/NA Only (for our cousins across the pond):

http://ivsu.binaries...ckageNARev2.zip

 

Once you have downloaded and extracted the zip to the root of a USB drive (min 2GB formatted as FAT32), you need to remove all other USB sticks/devices from the ports on the car (Nav SD can be left in), then start the engine and turn off auto/stop start. Plug the USB in and it should auto detect the update files, then just follow the on screen instructions. You need to give yourself at least 30 mins for the update to install, in that time you can drive the car, but remember that anything normally displayed on the screen will not be available (rear view cam, sensor distance, etc.).

 

 

 

 

Credits to alexp999 from http://www.fordownersclub.com/


Edited by hammie14, 06 March 2016 - 02:49 PM.


#3 Tit X lover

Tit X lover

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Focus Titanium X
  • Name:Pete Dix
  • Location:UK

Posted 06 March 2016 - 07:12 PM

Thanks for the reply, I did see your thread elsewhere, but would prefer an official update as the car is still under warranty.

#4 hammie14

hammie14

    Likes to chat

  • Members
  • 59 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Mondeo mk5 Estate
  • Name:Rob

Posted 06 March 2016 - 08:34 PM

Yeah I understand but this is the way the dealership will do it!

I just got my car back (mondeo mk5 with sync2) and they updated for me but only because I had MANY problems this is the same version they used! They told me to update it they would charge it's something like 1 hour labour plus and upgrade fee!

Ford in the USA allow there customers to do this I have no idea why the uk don't have the option to as its already there! Maybe in the near future ford will support DIY.


Also I know a lot of people who have followed the above with no problems! (From a different forum)

Edited by hammie14, 06 March 2016 - 08:36 PM.


#5 Tit X lover

Tit X lover

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Focus Titanium X
  • Name:Pete Dix
  • Location:UK

Posted 06 March 2016 - 08:57 PM

Cheers, yes I know the Americans can do theirs on line, seems we are always 5 years behind. I will have a think on the update.

#6 H8XME

H8XME

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 09 March 2016 - 01:49 PM

Any official downloads about?

#7 Tit X lover

Tit X lover

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Focus Titanium X
  • Name:Pete Dix
  • Location:UK

Posted 09 March 2016 - 06:16 PM

Those above are official but from India apparently. No official EU ones, unless you go to the dealership and pay.

#8 irish ek

irish ek

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 10 March 2016 - 09:02 AM

What have they changed in the update?! Mine is a july 2015 car, what are the differences?!

#9 H8XME

H8XME

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 10 March 2016 - 03:37 PM

Why should we pay for a new version

#10 Tit X lover

Tit X lover

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Focus Titanium X
  • Name:Pete Dix
  • Location:UK

Posted 10 March 2016 - 06:04 PM

Mine is a 2014 November registered car, which I bought through Ford direct last September. It was serviced before I bought it. Not sure what difference the updates would make if any and if its worth the hassle?




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users