Mondeo mk4 srs airbag switch install.. - Security / Safety (Mk4 Mondeo) - TalkFord.com

Jump to content

TalkFord.com uses cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info. To remove this message, please click the button to the right:    I accept the use of cookies

TalkFord Gold Members Don't See Adverts! Subscribe Today To Hide This Advert!

News Feed (View All Updates)



Photo

Mondeo mk4 srs airbag switch install..


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Fordmonde0

Fordmonde0

    Likes to chat

  • Members
  • 153 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Mondeo mk4
  • Name:Taf
  • Location:London

Posted 27 August 2015 - 08:00 AM

Hi as title can anyone please help me with a picture of their airbag switch on a mondeo mk4.
I want to install the switch to enable me to deactivate front passenger airbag for child seat but not sure of where switch is to be mounted (original ford mount position) .
I will hopefully do a follow up of how and what is required for this install once I know where the switch is positioned and get some free time to get it done.

I could not find a diy but If this area has been covered please can someone send a link etc.
Many thanks

#2 RB2004

RB2004

    Click4 - What will you Click4 today?

  • Members
  • 1481 posts
  • Location:essex

Posted 27 August 2015 - 08:57 AM

It's not as easy as just fitting a switch, you then need to program the airbag module to tell it you have fitted a switch.

#3 Fordmonde0

Fordmonde0

    Likes to chat

  • Members
  • 153 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Mondeo mk4
  • Name:Taf
  • Location:London

Posted 27 August 2015 - 09:42 AM

It's not as easy as just fitting a switch, you then need to program the airbag module to tell it you have fitted a switch.

Hi thank you for the reply,
I forgot to mention I understand switch needs to be programmed.
I have my own ford vcm ids and can do this no problem.

#4 Ford_RS83

Ford_RS83

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 41 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Mondeo 2.2 Tit S
  • Name:Juha Pajukoski
  • Location:Finland

Posted 27 August 2015 - 12:27 PM

*
POPULAR

Switch place is in left hand inside glove box. Just have to remove glove box to get plug on your hands (cable harness/plug ready on place). I m thinking doing that same thing to my mondeo.

Edited by Ford_RS83, 27 August 2015 - 12:32 PM.

  • Fordmonde0 likes this

#5 dutchguy

dutchguy

    Likes to chat

  • Members
  • 421 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Ford Mondeo mk4 2.5t
  • Name:Lars
  • Location:not near Amsterdam!

Posted 27 August 2015 - 01:01 PM

*
POPULAR

Curious problem.... has got vcm and says programming is no problem, but unable to locate the location for the airbag switch.......

Guess what i am thinking ;)

 

The location for the switch is behind the glovebox-door near the hook; it is sort of a perforated circle.


  • Fordmonde0 likes this

#6 Fordmonde0

Fordmonde0

    Likes to chat

  • Members
  • 153 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Mondeo mk4
  • Name:Taf
  • Location:London

Posted 27 August 2015 - 02:02 PM

Thanks for that guys I imagined drilling hole etc not taken much notice in all the times I removed the glovebox to feed all kinds of wires and posted without having a look again really..
But appreciate the advise will have a look tonight I'm sure all will become apparent. Mainly I hope this thread will help others as it seems nobody has gone through with a airbag switch install on here. Thanks again

#7 Fordmonde0

Fordmonde0

    Likes to chat

  • Members
  • 153 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Mondeo mk4
  • Name:Taf
  • Location:London

Posted 03 September 2015 - 08:38 AM

I have orderd the switch and awaiting delivery. Image showing location where switch will mount. I will update when I do a diy hopefully of what needs doing.

Attached Thumbnails

  • 1441269519221.jpg


#8 craigy02

craigy02

    TF regular

  • Members
  • 627 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:mondeo titanium x
  • Name:craig
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 06 September 2015 - 08:27 AM

I have orderd the switch and awaiting delivery. Image showing location where switch will mount. I will update when I do a diy hopefully of what needs doing.

i have had this installed

you will also need a switch where the hazard switch goes

the hazard switch gets replaced with another hazard/airbag warning switch to show if on/off


petrol ford mondeo mk4 2.0 titanium x 57 plate


#9 craigy02

craigy02

    TF regular

  • Members
  • 627 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:mondeo titanium x
  • Name:craig
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 06 September 2015 - 08:31 AM

*
POPULAR

just found a pic sitting on my computer just to give you a idea on other switch that I'm on aboutpost-74330-140455683289_thumb.jpg  not that clear


  • Fordmonde0 likes this

petrol ford mondeo mk4 2.0 titanium x 57 plate


#10 craigy02

craigy02

    TF regular

  • Members
  • 627 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:mondeo titanium x
  • Name:craig
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 06 September 2015 - 08:34 AM

*
POPULAR

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item2577b8a328

 

you might find cheaper but there you go


Edited by craigy02, 06 September 2015 - 08:34 AM.

  • Fordmonde0 likes this

petrol ford mondeo mk4 2.0 titanium x 57 plate





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users