Ac Not Engaging? - Air-Con / Heating (Mk1/Mk2 Mondeo) - TalkFord.com

TalkFord.com uses cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info. To remove this message, please click the button to the right:    I accept the use of cookies

TalkFord Gold Members Don't See Adverts! Subscribe Today To Hide This Advert!

News Feed (View All Updates)

Photo

Ac Not Engaging?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Amadeus

Amadeus

Likes to chat

• Members
  • 180 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Ford Mondeo 2.0 GLX
  • Name:Amadeus

Posted 18 January 2013 - 10:02 PM

I`m just asking that is there an temperature too cold that the AC won`t come on because I changed a new thermostat and a bit of coolant at the same time today. Eventually while waiting the car to heat up and to get the air out I started playing with the AC button and it didn`t do nothing. It didn`t put the fan on or lift the idling revs when I pressed the button, but atleast the light comes on in the button. :} On last years summer I refilled the system with new gas on work (750g) and it worked like a dream the whole summer, so atleast there should be gas and enough pressure for the magnetic switch to engage? Today I got off from the army for the weekend and started the car from -20 °C after two weeks of sitting in the parking lot and got home about four hours later with a new thermostat + O-ring. At the time I started wondering why the AC wouldn`t engage the air temperature was about -25 °C, so it`s pretty fu##ing cold in Finland right now. ::::

So anyone have any ideas of what`s going on... don`t say that I have a broken AC compressor or something else expensive?

Everything I say can be and must be used against me.

Mk1 Ford Mondeo 2.0 GLX Delta Project

Mk2 Ford Mondeo 2.0 GT STW ST-Line 

#2 stevieb12345

stevieb12345

MEG Admiral

• Global Moderator
  • 5649 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Mk4 Mondeo TXS

Posted 18 January 2013 - 11:24 PM

The air con doesn't work at 4c or below.

#3 PRC Ghost Rider