condenser removal???mk2 mondeo - Air-Con / Heating (Mk1/Mk2 Mondeo) - TalkFord.com

TalkFord.com uses cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info. To remove this message, please click the button to the right:    I accept the use of cookies

TalkFord Gold Members Don't See Adverts! Subscribe Today To Hide This Advert!

News Feed (View All Updates)

Photo

condenser removal???mk2 mondeo

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
11 replies to this topic

#1 jamesey

jamesey

Megger

• Members
  • 74 posts

Posted 03 July 2009 - 05:43 PM

hi im a newbie here (1st post) so hello there
the problem i have ive just bought a mondeo 1999 v reg zetec model with the 16" zetec alloys and have just been to charge the a/c up and the garage didnt get neat to filling it it just came straght out of the vents in the bottom of the bumber so my guess its the condenser or the pipes i cant see anything without stripping it down , it seems to be coming from the bottom of the bumper n/s just to the right of the front reg plate , is there anything prone to happen near here and what job is it to get and swap the condenser , thanks for any advise i just wanna be cold this summer going down to cornwall in aug :laugh:
[color:red]2005 2.2 GHIA X TDCI[/color]

#2 Galaxy

Galaxy

Megger

• Members
  • 56 posts

Posted 03 July 2009 - 07:13 PM

The bottom of the condenser will have rotted! Very common Mondeo Mk2 problem.

Get underneath and remove the screws which hold the radiator undershield on. Pull undershield towards rear of car to remove, if there's a strip of rubber on the radiator side tear it off and throw it away. It's this which absorbs water which then rots the condenser.

To remove condenser, support radiator with two small screwdrivers through the small holes on mounting pillars on top (just push them through the horizontal holes).