Upgrade DW10C (2010.09->) 140 to 163 HP by Elmconfig & IDS - Diesel Engines (Mk4 Mondeo) - TalkFord.com

Jump to content

TalkFord.com uses cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info. To remove this message, please click the button to the right:    I accept the use of cookies

TalkFord Gold Members Don't See Adverts! Subscribe Today To Hide This Advert!

News Feed (View All Updates)



Photo

Upgrade DW10C (2010.09->) 140 to 163 HP by Elmconfig & IDS


  • Please log in to reply
96 replies to this topic

#1 getsome

getsome

    Likes to chat

  • Members
  • 271 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Mondeo MK4.5 TDCi
  • Name:Raffe
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 23 May 2014 - 05:46 AM

*
POPULAR

If you are the lucky owner of a 2011 (Facelift) 2.0 TDCi and also have an ELM327 and IDS/VCM interface then you can upgrade your 140 BHP to 163 BHP with Fords own FW.

Actually the FW for the 140 & 163 is the same and just a couple of bits tell the ECU that is has to use the maps for the 140 resp 163 engine.

 

First you need Elmconfig and a modified ELM327 interface (google this or check Mondeo MK4 electrics subforum for links)

 

Read you config from BCM and save a copy on you computer.

Then change the parameter for the Engine (page 2 elmconfig Central Configuration tab)  to 2.0 I4 150PS Diesel DW10C Stage V , this is 1 step above the 140 PS engine.

Write back the central config to both IPC and BCM (ignore all flashing lights and errors on dash) with the new engine parameter set.

 

Fire up IDS och start new session.

 

After antering all needed data on the first page under the menu where you perform service function you will find possibility to do service functions for the PCM.

This is the same place where you can reset DPF counter , EGR , MAF and so on...

Almost at the bottom of this page is a function called write Central config to PCM... run this and you will now have a 163 PS car :)

 

Do a faultcode scan of all modules and reset all DTC:s

You maybe get a IPC dtc saying central config missing , just do a read of the config with IDS and write it back as sometimes elmconfig can corrupt the config in the IPC but this will be sorted by IDS.

 

 

 

 


  • BunkerMan, Pelle_B and kleszcz like this

#2 BunkerMan

BunkerMan

    Clever cloggs

  • Members
  • 1876 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Mk4 Ford Mondeo
  • Name:Dave
  • Location:Warwickshire

Posted 23 May 2014 - 07:16 AM

Good Info.

Only issue for most would be access to ids. I know how can buy a genuine interface but subscriptions are pricy. One guy on a forum has one for his independent workshop and Ford wanted 1300 quid to renew for a year's access.

Handy tip if anyone has access to ids though. Never knew that both configs were actually stored on the car.

Posted Via The Free TalkFord.com App

#3 getsome

getsome

    Likes to chat

  • Members
  • 271 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Mondeo MK4.5 TDCi
  • Name:Raffe
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 23 May 2014 - 07:29 AM

*
POPULAR

You can buy good cloned VCM II in china that work for module programming for about 300 $ , it´s still a lot of money but well worth it. And the latest IDS that will work (cracked) is V86 and actually this version want to program BG91-14C204-DM calibration for PCM that is the latest and actually gets rid of most of the jitterness while cruising , except between 1450-1550 rpm but the 100 rpm span can be easily avoided by shifiting up or down....

 

It´s easy to prove that both 163 and 140 uses the same file..

 

open etis.ford.com

 

Look at this VIN (140) : WF0GXXGBBGAR07772 (my car)

And compare with this VIN (163): WF0EXXGBBEAG28833

 

Look under : vehicle -> vehicle software -> summary

Check the PCM SW part number tab and you will see both cars left the factory with : BG91-14C204-DE s.w


Edited by getsome, 23 May 2014 - 07:36 AM.

  • BunkerMan likes this

#4 DandM

DandM

    Likes to chat

  • Members
  • 191 posts

Posted 23 May 2014 - 07:33 AM

Wow, I didn't know the 140/163 was just different maps!
Is it not possible to upload the 163 map to pre FL 140?

#5 getsome

getsome

    Likes to chat

  • Members
  • 271 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Mondeo MK4.5 TDCi
  • Name:Raffe
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 23 May 2014 - 07:37 AM

Sorry this will only work for the DW10C engine found on F.L



#6 BunkerMan

BunkerMan

    Clever cloggs

  • Members
  • 1876 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Mk4 Ford Mondeo
  • Name:Dave
  • Location:Warwickshire

Posted 23 May 2014 - 08:18 AM

Some pre facelift 2010 cars have the euro 5 engine. I'm wondering if there's a crossover point where it would be possible. The earlier euro 4 units would be a definite no.

Posted Via The Free TalkFord.com App

#7 getsome

getsome

    Likes to chat

  • Members
  • 271 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Mondeo MK4.5 TDCi
  • Name:Raffe
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 23 May 2014 - 09:12 AM

You will have to check on etis if your engine is DW10 C  and also if you don´t have the Volvo V50 type enigine cover (the one with the bumps) you probably have the "new" DW10C engine with Delphi DCM 3.5 ECU

The older units used Siemens SID203



#8 DandM

DandM

    Likes to chat

  • Members
  • 191 posts

Posted 23 May 2014 - 09:30 AM

On Etis mine says

Engine:	  2.0L Duratorq-TDCi (143PS) - DW

But nothing else in regards to the engine.


Edited by DandM, 23 May 2014 - 09:37 AM.


#9 getsome

getsome

    Likes to chat

  • Members
  • 271 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Mondeo MK4.5 TDCi
  • Name:Raffe
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 23 May 2014 - 10:42 AM

This is what it´s supposed to say if you have the correct engine : 2.0L Duratorq CR TC (140PS) - DW10C



#10 Carl0s

Carl0s

    Likes to chat

  • Members
  • 179 posts
  • Vehicle Driven:Focus EcoBoost -16
  • Name:Kake
  • Location:Finland

Posted 13 April 2015 - 08:44 AM

Is there any way i can do this using only IDS? 

 

Checked the configuration of the car, where it says that it is 140ps model, but suprice suprice, the IDS wont allow me to change it. 






2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users